Cheif Learning Officer Solutions for Enterprise Productivity

Learning In Practice FAQ


Q. What are the Learning In Practice awards?

A. Chief Learning Officer magazine's Learning in Practice awards were developed to recognize industry leaders who have demonstrated excellence in the design and delivery of workforce learning and development programs.

Awards are given annually in two broad categories: practitioners and providers. Practitioner awards include seven individual awards, including the industry’s top honor, the CLO of the Year. Practitioner awards are further split into two divisions: Division 1 for organizations with more than 10,000 employees. Division 2 for organizations with less than 10,000 employees.

Provider awards include eight awards for qualified service providers, including vendors, consultants and partner organizations. There are no separate divisions for provider awards.

For a full listing of categories, visit the Categories page.

Q. What's new in 2013?

A. The categories, rules and judging process this year remain the same as 2012. However, we are using a new award management system from developed and powered by

Q. Who is eligible to apply?

A. The practitioner awards are reserved for practicing learning and development professionals at for-profit, nonprofit, government and academic organizations. The provider awards are reserved for vendors, consultants and partnering organizations that provides services to client organizations.

All awards, with the exception of the CLO of the Year award, recognize leaders and providers for initiatives conducted within the past year. In the case of the 2013 awards, initiatives conducted anytime in 2012 up through June 2013 are eligible. Initiatives that were begun earlier are eligible so long as demonstrable results can be documented in the current award nomination period.

Q. Why is the CLO of the Year award different?

A. The CLO of the Year award is designed as a career recognition award and thus is designed to recognize a body of work, rather than a single initiative conducted in the past year. CLOs applying for this award may include work conducted on behalf of their organization outside of the one year period applied to the other award categories.

Q. How are the provider awards different from the practitioner awards?

A. Besides recognizing vendors and service providers, the provider awards require nominees to describe work they have conducted on behalf of a client within the past year. In order to preserve the integrity of the award, that client must be named within the application.

Q. Can we nominate more than one person in the same application for a practitioner award?

A. No. With the exception of the Collaboration award, all practitioner awards are designed to recognize the individual learning and development leader with responsibility for the initiative described in the nomination.

Q. Can we apply for more than one award?

A. Yes. There is no limit on the number of awards you can apply for.

Q. How do I apply for the awards?

A. There is an online application with available downloadable forms to preview nomination requirements. The nomination process for the 2013 awards is open from May 24, 2013 to July 19, 2013 at 11:59 pm Central time.

Online entry forms for the awards can be found here:

Practitioner Division 1 (for organizations with more than 10,000 employees)

Practitioner Division 2 (for organizations with less than 10,000 employees)

CLO of the Year

Providers (for qualified vendors and service providers)

Q. Is there a cost to apply? How can I pay?

A. There is a $195 application processing and handling fee for practitioner categories. Provider categories are $495. When you complete the online application and click submit you will be required to pay the application fee with a credit card. Your application is not finalized until payment.

Q. When will the winners be announced?

A. Finalists will be announced in August 2013. At that point, finalists will know which category but not which level of award – gold, silver or bronze – they have received. The final awards will be announced during a special ceremony on Mon, Sept. 30 at the Fall 2013 CLO Symposium at the Rancho Las Palmas Resort and Spa in Palm Springs, Calif.

Q. Is there an awards ceremony and is there a cost to attend?

A. The awards ceremony will take place Mon, Sept. 30. The ceremony will be begin with a networking reception at 5:30 p.m., followed by awards presentation and keynote address from 2012 CLO of the Year Pat Crull at 7 p.m. and entertainment at 8:30 p.m.

Tickets for the dinner only are $199 and may be purchased on the Symposium event registration page:

Q. What do award winners receive?

A. Award winners will receive a specially designed award during the ceremony at the Fall CLO Symposium. They will also be recognized in a special section in the December issue of Chief Learning Officer magazine.

Q. What is the judging process and criteria?

A. A panel of judges has been established for each of the 16 categories of awards to ensure the entries can be judged consistently and fairly. Winners will be determined by averaging scores assigned by judges to each entry. In the event of a tie, a select group of judges will review competing entries to determine winners.

The scoring has been set up to be consistent across the award categories and judges will provide numerical scores for each of the following criteria:

Practitioner Awards:

1) Leadership: The degree to which the practitioner or team led the initiative, demonstrated by behaviors such as setting clear goals, providing guidance, coaching and support, working through obstacles and/or celebrating success.

2) Challenge: The scope, difficulty and size of the initiative.

3) Award-specific criteria: See Category page for description of award.

Provider Awards:

1) Ownership: The degree to which the provider took ownership of the client's challenge, demonstrated by behaviors such as helping define outcomes, setting clear goals, providing guidance, working through obstacles and communicating challenges and successes.
2) Challenge: The scope, difficulty and size of the initiative.
3) Award-specific criteria: See Category page for description of award.

Each of the three award criteria is judged on a scale of 1 to 5:

5 (Breakthrough and/or Role Model): For learning practitioners or vendor companies considered "breakthroughs" and/or "role models" for the learning and development industry. The challenge is considered to be extreme (across an entire industry) or global (large numbers of learners, many stakeholders, very difficult to accomplish), and the nominees have demonstrated role-model leadership.
3-4 (Outstanding): For learning practitioners or vendor companies who did an outstanding job, met or exceeded all of the criteria as described and accomplished all goals. The complexity was significant and/or the nominees demonstrated clear leadership.
1-2 (Meets the criteria): For learning practitioners or vendor companies whose initiatives met the criteria, but did not or could not provide clear or reliable evidence to identify initiatives as breakthrough or outstanding.
0 (Does not meet the criteria): Did not meet the criteria established or failed to document how the criteria were met.

Q. Who are the judges?

A. Judges include senior practitioners, learning and development experts, Chief Learning Officer editors and past award winners. Each nomination is reviewed by multiple judges to minimize bias.

Article Keywords:   Learning in Practice Awards  


Related Articles



5 Learning Strategy Essentials for 2014
April 22nd 2:00pm - 3:00pm ET

Breakfast Clubs

2014 CLO Breakfast Club, Philadelphia
May 1st - 1st, 2014Hyatt at The Bellevue


Fall 2014 CLO Symposium
October 6th - 8th, 2014Park Hyatt Aviara

From the Network

Twitter Updates